OriginsAfghanistanNigeriaRussiaGhanaPanamaChinaChinaThe BalkansHungaryJapanJapanPakistanPhilippinesSyriaUkraine

Shirt

The motifs on this blouse are based on home and community. With the exception of the coloured cotton floss, which was purchased to stitch the embroidery, the blouse was made locally using local materials. The flax plant, which grows all over Europe, yields linseed oil, linen and flax seeds. The creator of this blouse grew the linen, spun the threads and wove the cloth.





Where was this textile created?

World map preview image

Ukraine

Shirt
Europe: Eastern Europe, Ukraine or Carpathia
c. 1940
Woven linen, hand sewn and embroidered
100 cm x 116 cm
Gift of Olga Ciupka
T97.0053 Textile Museum of Canada



The cross-stitched flowers on this square-cut chemise, or long blouse, are concentrated at the collar and tops of the sleeves. These embroidered flowers are placed according to the traditional style of Ukrainian folk dress. The blouse is worn with a wraparound wool skirt, a sash, a decorated apron and either a vest or tunic.

The linen chemise is an ancient garment. It reminds us of the earliest shirts that were made without shaping from lengths of woven cloth. Unlike the wrapped robe, which has hardly changed over the centuries, the shirt (chemise, blouse or smock) has evolved with more and more tucking and piecing into the fitted garment worn today.






Do an Activity!
Test your knowledge of textiles and discover something new. You have four adventures to choose from.


Make a Mola Paint by Plant Magic Carpet Animal Know How

OriginesAfghanistanNigeriaRussieGhanaPanamaChineChineLes BalkansHongrieJaponJaponPakistanPhilippinesSyrieUkraine

chemise

Les motifs de cette chemise sont axés sur les thèmes du foyer et de la communauté. À l’exception de la bourre de coton colorée, achetée pour piquer la broderie, les éléments entrant dans sa composition sont locaux. Présent partout en Europe, le lin produit de l’huile et des graines, ainsi que le fil de lin. L’artisan de cette chemise a dû faire pousser du lin pour le filer avant de le tisser.





D’où ce textile provient-il?

Prévisualisation de la carte du monde

Ukraine

chemise
Europe : Europe de l'Est, Ukraine ou Carpates
1940, milieu du XXe siècle
Lin tissé, cousu et brodé à la main
100 cm x 116 cm
Don d'Olga Ciupka
T97.0053 Textile Museum of Canada



Les fleurs brodées au point de croix sur cette chemise ou longue blouse, d’une coupe carrée, sont concentrées autour du col et sur le dessus des manches. Leur emplacement est représentatif du style traditionnel des robes folkloriques ukrainiennes. On porte cette chemise avec une jupe-enveloppe de laine, une ceinture-écharpe, un tablier décoré et, au choix, une veste ou une tunique.

La chemise de lin qu’on connaît est un vêtement ancien. Elle nous rappelle les premières chemises fabriquées à partir de longueurs d’étoffes tissées, sans forme définie. Contrairement à la robe à draper autour de soi, qui a à peine changé au cours des siècles, la chemise (à moins qu’il ne s’agisse d’une blouse ou d’un corsage) a évolué pour devenir ce vêtement ajusté d’aujourd’hui, avec de plus en plus de remplis et de pièces.






À vous de jouer
Testez et enrichissez votre connaissance des textiles. Choisissez une aventure parmi les quatre proposées.


Créez une mola Teignez avec des plantes Découvrez un tapis magique Savoir-faire animal