BridgesThe BeadThe Overshot CoverletThe BeaverOld World to New WorldCloth’s JourneyThe PaisleyThe Tree of LifeThe CowrieThe PatoluThe Silk RoadChintzImprovised PatternsThe Colour BlueThe Oriental CarpetThe Big Fight

Pipe bag

European fur traders introduced glass beads to Canadian First Nations peoples in the 17th century. The natives quickly took to these beads, which eventually replaced dyed porcupine quills and shell beads as the preferred form of embellishment. On their 1804 expedition to the Canadian Northwest, Lewis and Clark brought beads to trade with First Nations peoples. Unfortunately, they guessed wrong about the kinds of beads the natives would prefer – namely the blue and white variety. Instead, Lewis and Clark brought mostly red beads and mock garnets. Fortunately, the explorers discovered their mistake before it was too late and the expedition was a success.





Where was this textile created?

World map preview image

The Bead

Pipe bag
North America: Canada, Central Canada, Ontario; Woodland Cree people
Late 19th century
Smoked deerskin embroidered with glass and metal beads
46 cm x 13 cm
Gift of Elizabeth Rooney
T96.0181 Textile Museum of Canada



Before entering into battle, Woodland Cree warriors put pipes and tobacco into deerskin bags such as this one, and attached them to their belts. To preserve the leather, the bag was tanned using cow brains, and it was smoked to make it water-repellent. The glass beads sewn on the bag form panels on the front and back. Each is a different version of Woodland Cree traditional floral imagery. The beadwork pre-dates 1880 because the silver, cut-metal beads were not used for embellishment after that date.

Canadian First Nations peoples used belts and strings of wampum (polished shells) to record important events, and to demonstrate core values of the Iroquois confederacy such as cooperation and consensus. Europeans mistakenly believed the natives used wampum as a form of currency.






Do an Activity!
Test your knowledge of textiles and discover something new. You have four adventures to choose from.


Make a Mola Paint by Plant Magic Carpet Animal Know How

PontsLa perleLe couvre-lit à duite de dessusLe castorDes vieux pays au nouveau mondeAir de fêteLe dessin cachemireL’arbre de vieLe cauriLe patoluLa route de la soieChintzMotifs improvisésBleu nuitLe tapis orientalVêtement de combat

La perle

Avant que les commerçants de fourrure européens ne leur en proposent, au XVIIe siècle, les Premières nations canadiennes ne connaissaient pas les perles de verre. Elles se sont toutefois rapidement entichées de ces perles qui allaient devenir leur ornement favori, devant les piquants de porc-épic séchés et les perles de coquillages. Lors de leur expédition de 1804 dans le nord-ouest canadien, Lewis et Clark avaient pris soin d’apporter des perles pour négocier avec les représentants des Premières nations. Malheureusement, ils s’étaient trompés quant au type de perles recherchées, les bleues et les blanches, n’ayant surtout à offrir que des rouges et de faux grenats. Ils se sont aperçus de leur erreur avant qu’il ne soit trop tard, et leur expédition a été couronnée de succès.





D’où ce textile provient-il?

Prévisualisation de la carte du monde

La perle

sac à pipe
Amérique du Nord : Canada, Canada central, Ontario, Cri
1880 - 1900, fin du XIXe siècle
Peau de chevreuil fumée, brodée de perles de verre et de métal
46 cm x 13 cm
Don d'Elizabeth Rooney
T96.0181 Textile Museum of Canada



Avant de livrer bataille, les guerriers cris de Woodland fourraient pipes et tabac dans des sacs en peau de chevreuil comme celui-ci, qu’ils attachaient à leur ceinture. Afin d’en préserver le cuir, ils tannaient leur sac avec de la cervelle de vache, puis le fumaient pour l’imperméabiliser. Les perles de verre cousues sur ce sac forment un panneau avant et un panneau arrière, chacun présentant une version différente des motifs floraux traditionnels des Cris de Woodland. Ce type de broderie perlée est antérieur à 1880, année à partir de laquelle on a cessé d’utiliser les perles taillées en argent comme ornements.

Les Premières nations canadiennes se servaient de ceintures et de cordes de wampum (coquillages polis) pour consigner les événements importants et décrire les valeurs fondamentales de la confédération iroquoise, comme la coopération et le consensus. Les Européens croyaient à tort que le wampum était une forme de monnaie pour les Autochtones.






À vous de jouer
Testez et enrichissez votre connaissance des textiles. Choisissez une aventure parmi les quatre proposées.


Créez une mola Teignez avec des plantes Découvrez un tapis magique Savoir-faire animal