StoriesMagicMourningReflections of GloryHorses and DragonsAnimal AdornmentWeddingKids' CreativitySacred DancersWoven AirThe Mythical MonkeyCloth of WarThe Tanabata Bridge of WingsPrayers to the Sea GoddessSnake TwistTapa Map

Wedding dress

Throughout the twentieth century, one of the most popular forms of wedding attire in China was the combination of a red silk jacket and panelled skirt – heavily embroidered with dragon and phoenix motifs. Red was favoured because of its association with good fortune.





Where was this textile created?

World map preview image

Wedding

Wedding dress
Asia: East Asia, China
c. 1960
Silk satin, sewn with beads and sequins
98 cm x 63 cm
Gift of Elaine Chan
T95.0164a-b Textile Museum of Canada



The extensive bead embroidery on this woman’s two-piece suit is reminiscent of the hand-sewn embellishment found in European couture. It echoes the symbolic designs of imperial dragon robes, with dragons, birds and phoenixes floating in the air above borders of stripes and flowers. The metal zipper on the jacket is a modern and somewhat discordant finishing touch.

This outfit may have been worn exclusively in Hong Kong. In the 1960s, the Cultural Revolution in mainland China prohibited the wearing of traditional, “decadent” symbols on clothing. Variety in wardrobe was halted and the Chinese adopted the Mao suit as the only style of dress.






Do an Activity!
Test your knowledge of textiles and discover something new. You have four adventures to choose from.


Make a Mola Paint by Plant Magic Carpet Animal Know How

RécitsLa magieLe deuilDes airs de gloireDragons et chevauxParure d’animalLe mariageŒuvres d’enfantsDanseurs sacrésTissu vaporeuxLe singe mythiqueÉtoffe de guerreLe pont d’ailes de TanabataPrières à la déesse de la merLa symbolique du serpentCarte tapa

jupe de mariage

L’une des tenues de mariage les plus courantes en Chine, tout au long du XXe siècle, a consisté à jumeler une veste et une jupe à panneaux en soie rouge – largement brodées de motifs arborant des dragons et des phénix. On préférait le rouge, car il portait bonheur.





D’où ce textile provient-il?

Prévisualisation de la carte du monde

Le mariage

jupe de mariage
Asie : Asie de l'Est, Chine
vers 1960, milieu du XXe siècle
Soie satin, cousue avec des perles et des paillettes
98 cm x 63 cm
Don d’ Elaine Chan
T95.0164a Textile Museum of Canada



La broderie abondamment perlée de ce deux-pièces pour femme évoque les ornements cousus à la main d’Europe. On y répète les motifs symboliques des robes dragons impériales, où, au-dessus d’une bordure à rayures et à fleurs, des dragons, des oiseaux et des phénix planent dans le ciel. Touche de finition moderne, la fermeture-éclair métallique de la veste jure quelque peu avec l’ensemble.

Cet ensemble était vraisemblablement l’apanage des femmes de Hong Kong. Dans les années 1960, sous l’impact de la Révolution culturelle, on a condamné la présence de symboles traditionnels, jugés « décadents », sur les vêtements de la Chine continentale. La variété des garde-robes a été jugulée pour inciter les Chinois à n’adopter qu’un style vestimentaire, celui du costume Mao.






À vous de jouer
Testez et enrichissez votre connaissance des textiles. Choisissez une aventure parmi les quatre proposées.


Créez une mola Teignez avec des plantes Découvrez un tapis magique Savoir-faire animal