OriginsAfghanistanNigeriaRussiaGhanaPanamaChinaChinaThe BalkansHungaryJapanJapanPakistanPhilippinesSyriaUkraine

Robe (boubou)

This formation of this large robe contains information about textile making in sub-Saharan Africa. The robe is sewn from 4.5-centimetre woven cotton strips and embroidered with circular symbols. The strips are dyed and pounded with indigo until they take on a metallic sheen.





Where was this textile created?

World map preview image

Nigeria

Robe (boubou)
Africa: West Africa, Nigeria; Tuareg people
c. 1976
Cotton, woven, embroidered, indigo dyed and burnished
295 cm x 152 cm
From the Opekar/ Webster Collection
T94.3009 Textile Museum of Canada



The northern Nigerian technique of constructing robes and veils from narrow strips of cloth is based on a Saharan tradition. Saharan traders use wheels of cotton strips, called dindi or wendi, as a form of currency, and to a degree this robe is also a form of currency. The indigo dye that saturates the robe adds to its value because it stains the wearer’s skin a deep blue.

“How can a simple piece of white cotton cloth end up looking like this? The fact that cotton cloth can end up looking like patent leather is amazing to me. There’s a strength and power in this kind of minimalism.” Judith Fielder, Canadian textile artist






Do an Activity!
Test your knowledge of textiles and discover something new. You have four adventures to choose from.


Make a Mola Paint by Plant Magic Carpet Animal Know How

OriginesAfghanistanNigeriaRussieGhanaPanamaChineChineLes BalkansHongrieJaponJaponPakistanPhilippinesSyrieUkraine

robe d’intérieur (boubou)

La confection de cette grande robe nous renseigne sur la fabrication textile en Afrique subsaharienne. Composée de bandes de coton de 4,5 cm, tissées et cousues ensemble, la robe arbore des symboles circulaires brodés. Les bandes ont non seulement été teintes, mais aussi frappées avec de l’indigo jusqu’à l’obtention d’un lustre métallique.





D’où ce textile provient-il?

Prévisualisation de la carte du monde

Nigeria

robe d’intérieur (boubou)
Afrique : Afrique occidentale, Nigeria, Touareg
vers 1976, fin du XXe siècle
Coton tissé, brodé, teint à l’indigo et poli
295 cm x 152 cm
De la collection d'Opekar/Webster
T94.3009 Textile Museum of Canada



La technique employée dans le nord du Nigeria pour fabriquer des robes et des voiles à partir de bandes de tissu étroites est de tradition saharienne. Les marchands sahariens utilisent des rouleaux de bandes de coton, dits dindi ou wendi, en guise de devise et, jusqu’à un certain point, cette robe est aussi une forme de monnaie. La teinture d’indigo dont elle est imprégnée ajoute à sa valeur parce qu’elle colore la peau de celui qui la porte d’un bleu profond.

« Comment un simple morceau de coton blanc peut-il finir par prendre cet aspect? Qu’on puisse donner à du coton l’apparence du cuir verni me stupéfait. Il y a de la force, de la puissance, dans ce type de minimalisme. » Judith Fielder, artiste canadienne du textile






À vous de jouer
Testez et enrichissez votre connaissance des textiles. Choisissez une aventure parmi les quatre proposées.


Créez une mola Teignez avec des plantes Découvrez un tapis magique Savoir-faire animal