BridgesThe BeadThe Overshot CoverletThe BeaverOld World to New WorldCloth’s JourneyThe PaisleyThe Tree of LifeThe CowrieThe PatoluThe Silk RoadChintzImprovised PatternsThe Colour BlueThe Oriental CarpetThe Big Fight

The Colour Blue

The maker of this cloth cuts a design from a sheet of zinc, lays it on a cloth and applies a starch paste. Several dips in a bath of indigo dye turn the cloth dark blue. When the paste is removed, the covered areas emerge as a lighter pattern against the darker background.





Where was this textile created?

World map preview image

The Colour Blue

Cloth (adire)
Africa: West Africa, Nigeria; Yoruba people
1953
Cotton, paste resist dyed
176 cm x 206 cm
From the Opekar/Webster Collection
T94.2095 Textile Museum of Canada



The Yoruba people of Nigeria make indigo resist dyed cotton cloths called adire, which are worn by women as wraparound dresses. The indigo design on this cloth is a variation of a famous adire pattern called “Olaba” which is based on a 1935 Silver Jubilee medallion honouring King George and Queen Mary. Within its minimal palette of blues, the stenciled design creates an animated surface of textures. The dot and grid patterns (made by the stencil) are enhanced by running a comb through the wet paste to make wavy stripes that appear in places like the lion’s mane.

Nigerian adire makers were so impressed by King George’s medallion that versions of it appeared on their textiles for decades afterwards in various stages of stylization and abstraction. On this adire, the original British lion is shown sharing the cloth with birds and pieced-together figures including a British soldier with his gun, and a winged creature that may depict the Prophet Mohammed’s horse, Burak.






Do an Activity!
Test your knowledge of textiles and discover something new. You have four adventures to choose from.


Make a Mola Paint by Plant Magic Carpet Animal Know How

PontsLa perleLe couvre-lit à duite de dessusLe castorDes vieux pays au nouveau mondeAir de fêteLe dessin cachemireL’arbre de vieLe cauriLe patoluLa route de la soieChintzMotifs improvisésBleu nuitLe tapis orientalVêtement de combat

tissu (adire)

L’artisan de cette étoffe a reproduit son motif sur une feuille de zinc, qu’il a ensuite découpée et déposée sur du tissu pour y appliquer de la pâte d’amidon. Plusieurs immersions dans un bain d’indigo ont donné au tissu sa teinte bleu nuit. Au retrait de la pâte, la pâleur des zones couvertes détonnent avec le fond plus foncé.





D’où ce textile provient-il?

Prévisualisation de la carte du monde

Bleu nuit

tissu (adire)
Afrique : Afrique occidentale, Nigeria, Yorouba
1953, milieu du XXe siècle
Coton, teint par réserve de pâte
176 cm x 206 cm
De la collection d'Opekar/Webster
T94.2095 Textile Museum of Canada



Les Yoroubas du Nigeria fabriquent des cotons teints par réserve à l’indigo, qu’ils appellent adire. Les femmes s’en font volontiers des robes dans lesquelles elles se drapent. Le motif apparaissant sur celui-ci est une variante d’un autre célèbre, l’olaba, inspiré d’un médaillon frappé en 1935 à l’occasion du jubilé d’argent du roi George V et de la reine Mary. Réalisé au pochoir et intégré à une courte palette de bleus, il crée une surface texturée. Ses points et ses dessins grillagés, laissés par le pochoir, ont été accentués à l’aide d’un peigne passé dans une pâte mouillée. C’est à cette technique que l’adire doit ses rayures sinueuses à quelques endroits précis, comme, ici, dans la crinière du lion.

Le médaillon du roi George V a tant impressionné les créateurs d’adires nigérians que, des dizaines d’années plus tard, il figure toujours sur leurs textiles, inspirant différentes formes esthétiques et abstraites. Sur cet adire, le lion britannique d’origine est montré avec des oiseaux et des personnages réalisés par appliqués, y compris un soldat britannique armé et une créature ailée qui pourrait représenter Burak, le cheval du prophète Mahomet.






À vous de jouer
Testez et enrichissez votre connaissance des textiles. Choisissez une aventure parmi les quatre proposées.


Créez une mola Teignez avec des plantes Découvrez un tapis magique Savoir-faire animal