PlacesThe NurseryThe CradleThe ForestThe FarmThe BedroomThe HearthNew FranceThe ParlourThe PrairieThe Vacation SpotThe Far NorthThe Pacific CoastThe Tea TableThe Log CabinThe Frozen Pond


The practice of using up scraps of fabric left over from another use, or cut out of worn garments, is a longstanding one in Canada, and indeed in most of the world. Before the industrialization of textile manufacturing, cloth of all kinds was precious, since every step in its production was time-consuming. Every bit of it was used. Our ancestors would find the way we casually use and discard our clothing in contemporary Canada utterly foreign to them, just as they would disapprove of our wasteful ways with food, another hard won asset in pioneer Canada.





Where was this textile created?

World map preview image

The Log Cabin

Quilt
North America: Canada, Central Canada, Ontario, Waterloo County, Elmira
1880
Wool fabrics, pieced and quilted
190 cm x 183 cm
From the Opekar/Webster Collection
T94.0385 Textile Museum of Canada



The red fabric for the eight pointed stars on this wool quilt may have been purchased, or it may have come from the “red coats” of military clothing. The rest of the pieces were probably scraps of fabric left over from the making of suits. The suiting materials, some woven by hand and some commercially produced, conform to a somber palette of browns and purples, and they make the red eight-pointed stars blaze with warmth.

A quilt like this – covering your bed during a winter’s night in a log cabin heated only by a wood stove – would do an admirable job of keeping you warm, but it would also be heavy and, unfortunately, itchy.






Do an Activity!
Test your knowledge of textiles and discover something new. You have four adventures to choose from.


Make a Mola Paint by Plant Magic Carpet Animal Know How

LieuxLe jardin d’enfantsLe berceauLa forêtLa fermeLa chambre à coucherLe cœurLa Nouvelle-FranceLe salonLes PrairiesLoin du foyer maternelLe Grand NordLa côte PacifiqueLa table à théLa cabane en rondinsL’étang gelé

Courtepointe

Le recyclage de tissus, notamment de vêtements usés, ne date pas d’hier ni au Canada, ni ailleurs dans le monde. Avant l’industrialisation de la fabrication des textiles, toutes les étoffes, quel qu’en ait été le type, étaient précieuses en raison des étapes laborieuses de leur confection. Ayant trimé toute leur vie pour produire leurs biens, les pionniers canadiens trouveraient certainement à redire devant l’insouciance avec laquelle, de nos jours, nous jetons nos vieux vêtements ou la nourriture.





D’où ce textile provient-il?

Prévisualisation de la carte du monde

La cabane en rondins

Courtepointe
Amérique du Nord : Canada, Canada central, Ontario, comté de Waterloo, Elmira
1880, fin du XIXe siècle
Pièces de laine, agencées et matelassées
190 cm x 183 cm
De la collection d'Opekar/Webster
T94.0385 Textile Museum of Canada



Le tissu rouge dans lequel ont été découpées les étoiles de cette courtepointe en laine provenait soit du magasin, soit des « tuniques rouges » des militaires britanniques. L’artisane a peut-être tiré les autres retailles de la confection de costumes. Tous les morceaux ainsi agencés, certains tissés à la main et d’autres produits à l’usine, entrent dans une palette sombre dominée par les bruns et les mauves, d’où l’éclat chaleureux des étoiles rouges à huit pointes.

Une courtepointe comme celle-ci vous tiendrait merveilleusement au chaud si, par une froide nuit d’hiver, vous deviez dormir dans une cabane en rondins uniquement chauffée par un poêle à bois, mais peut-être la trouveriez-vous lourde et rêche.






À vous de jouer
Testez et enrichissez votre connaissance des textiles. Choisissez une aventure parmi les quatre proposées.


Créez une mola Teignez avec des plantes Découvrez un tapis magique Savoir-faire animal