BridgesThe BeadThe Overshot CoverletThe BeaverOld World to New WorldCloth’s JourneyThe PaisleyThe Tree of LifeThe CowrieThe PatoluThe Silk RoadChintzImprovised PatternsThe Colour BlueThe Oriental CarpetThe Big Fight

Jacket

The practice of using cloth to commemorate events and communicate messages is universal. In central Africa, message-laden cloth is often particularly arresting, as is the case with this brilliant, colourful jacket. When someone wears clothing with a visible message, that person effectively becomes a walking billboard.





Where was this textile created?

World map preview image

The Big Fight

Jacket
Africa: Central Africa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
c. 1987
Printed cotton, rayon lining
79 cm x 94 cm
Gift of Dr. Howard Gorman
T94.0176 Textile Museum of Canada



The cloth from which this jacket is made features a portrait of the former president of Zaire, Mobutu Sese Seko, wearing his trademark leopard-skin hat. Surrounding Mobutu’s picture are two rings: the first is a ring of fire and the second is a black ring with Mobutu le fondateur (the founder) written above, and 20 Mai 20eme anniversaire (20th anniversary) du MPR 1967-1987 written below. MPR stands for Mobutu’s party, Mouvement Populaire de la Revolution. The fabric was likely printed in Africa, but retailer JCPenney had the jacket manufactured for sale in the United States.

The 1974 “Rumble in the Jungle” featured African American boxers Muhammad Ali and George Forman. The fight took place in Zaire and began at 5 a.m. local time in order for it to air during prime time in the United States. Mobutu financed the match as “a gift from President Mobutu to the people of Zaire honouring black people.” The money did not actually belong to Mobutu, but came from Zaire’s nearly bankrupt national treasury. The event gave Mobutu a great deal of exposure particularly among African Americans, and all on the coattails of Muhammad Ali – the most famous boxer in the world at that time.






Do an Activity!
Test your knowledge of textiles and discover something new. You have four adventures to choose from.


Make a Mola Paint by Plant Magic Carpet Animal Know How

PontsLa perleLe couvre-lit à duite de dessusLe castorDes vieux pays au nouveau mondeAir de fêteLe dessin cachemireL’arbre de vieLe cauriLe patoluLa route de la soieChintzMotifs improvisésBleu nuitLe tapis orientalVêtement de combat

voile

Le fait d’utiliser le vêtement comme porte-étendard pour commémorer un événement ou communiquer un message est universel. En Afrique centrale, le vêtement chargé de messages est souvent très frappant, comme dans le cas de cette veste d’impression industrielle, brillante et colorée. En enfilant une telle veste, on devient un panneau-réclame vivant.





D’où ce textile provient-il?

Prévisualisation de la carte du monde

Vêtement de combat

voile
Afrique
vers 1987, fin du XXe siècle
Coton imprimé, doublure de rayonne
79 cm x 94 cm
Don du Dr. Howard Gorman
T94.0176 Textile Museum of Canada



Le tissu dans lequel est fabriquée cette veste montre un portrait de l’ancien président du Zaïre, Mobutu Sese Seko, portant son chapeau emblématique en peau de léopard. Deux anneaux sont dessinés autour de Mobutu : le premier est de feu et le second, noir, donne à lire « Mobutu le fondateur » (au-dessus) et « 20 mai 20e anniversaire du MPR 1967-1987 » (au-dessous). Les lettres « MPR » renvoient au parti politique dirigé par Mobutu, le Mouvement populaire de la révolution. Selon toute vraisemblance imprimée en Afrique, la veste porte une étiquette révélant son origine américaine, JCPenney.

En 1974, un combat de boxe légendaire, baptisé « le grabuge dans la jungle », a opposé deux Afro-Américains, Mohammed Ali et George Forman. Se déroulant au Zaïre, le combat a débuté à 5 heures du matin pour être vu aux heures de grande écoute aux États-Unis. Mobutu avait financé le match, déclarant qu’il s’agissait d’un « cadeau du président Mobutu au peuple du Zaïre en l’honneur des Noirs ». En fait, l’argent ne lui appartenait pas, mais provenait du trésor national du Zaïre, au bord de la faillite. Avec cet événement, tous les regards, plus particulièrement ceux des Afro-Américains, se sont tournés vers Mobutu, dans le sillage du succès de Mohammed Ali, alors proclamé champion du monde de la boxe de tous les temps.






À vous de jouer
Testez et enrichissez votre connaissance des textiles. Choisissez une aventure parmi les quatre proposées.


Créez une mola Teignez avec des plantes Découvrez un tapis magique Savoir-faire animal