OriginsAfghanistanNigeriaRussiaGhanaPanamaChinaChinaThe BalkansHungaryJapanJapanPakistanPhilippinesSyriaUkraine

Vest (kataginu) and trousers (hakama)

The Japanese method of resist printing (katazome) requires only simple tools: rice paste, a paper pattern and a single vegetable dye such as persimmon. The textile printer forces the rice paste onto the cloth through a thick paper stencil that is cut with a tiny swirling pattern. The cloth resists the dye according to the stenciled pattern, and the paste resist is then removed by washing the cloth.





Where was this textile created?

World map preview image

Japan

Vest (kataginu) and trousers (hakama)
Asia: East Asia, Japan
Late Edo Dynasty, 1789 - 1868
Woven hemp, patterned with stenciled paste resist
81 cm x 77 cm
Gift of Kaoru Kamimura
T94.0018a-b Textile Museum of Canada



The formal attire of a samurai warrior in Japan’s Edo period (1789-1868) consisted of a vest (kataginu) and trousers (hakama) worn over a simple kimono. This suit is made of hemp and was patterned by the technique known as katazome, or stenciled paste resist. The Takeda family mon, or crest, appears on the front of the trousers and vest. In the late Edo period, the samurai costume became exaggerated with the addition of stiff wings supported by whalebones extending from the shoulders of the vest.

This stencil pattern is meant to imitate “shagreen,” or pebbled shark leather. The multi-stage, labourious stenciling and dyeing process creates a natural texture and granular effect. The English word “chagrin,” meaning distress caused by humiliation or disappointment, is akin to “shagreen” and refers to the rough surface of the leather.






Do an Activity!
Test your knowledge of textiles and discover something new. You have four adventures to choose from.


Make a Mola Paint by Plant Magic Carpet Animal Know How

OriginesAfghanistanNigeriaRussieGhanaPanamaChineChineLes BalkansHongrieJaponJaponPakistanPhilippinesSyrieUkraine

gilet (kataginu)

La méthode japonaise de teinture par réserve (katazome) repose sur des outils très simples : de la pâte de riz, un motif en papier et une seule teinture végétale, comme le kaki. L’artisan fait pénétrer la pâte de riz dans le tissu à travers un pochoir de papier épais auquel il a donné la forme d’un petit motif en tourbillon. Le tissu réservé par pochoir résiste à la teinture, et il suffit de le laver pour enlever la pâte.





D’où ce textile provient-il?

Prévisualisation de la carte du monde

Japon

gilet (kataginu)
Asie : Asie de l'Est, Japon
1789 - 1868, fin de la dynastie Edo
Chanvre tissé, motif conçu par réserve en pâte, au pochoir
81 cm x 77 cm
Don de Kaoru Kamimura
T94.0018a Textile Museum of Canada



La tenue officielle du guerrier samouraï en vogue à l’époque Edo (1789-1868), au Japon, consistait en un gilet (kataginu) et un pantalon (hakama) sur un simple kimono. Le motif de cet ensemble en chanvre a été réalisé à l’aide de la technique katazome, ou par réserve en pâte au pochoir. L’emblème, dit mon, du clan Takeda apparaît sur le devant du pantalon et du gilet. À la fin de l’époque Edo, le costume des samouraïs s’est fait exagérément complexe, avec l’ajout d’ailerons rigides aux épaules, soutenus par des os de baleine.

Ce motif de pochoir vise à imiter le « chagrin », plus particulièrement le cuir grenu du requin. La texture naturellement granuleuse du tissu résulte de plusieurs étapes laborieuses de teinture au pochoir. Si le « chagrin » renvoie à la douleur causée par l’humiliation ou la déception, il est aussi ce cuir travaillé de façon à le rendre grenu… Ne dit-on pas une « peau de chagrin »?






À vous de jouer
Testez et enrichissez votre connaissance des textiles. Choisissez une aventure parmi les quatre proposées.


Créez une mola Teignez avec des plantes Découvrez un tapis magique Savoir-faire animal