PlacesThe NurseryThe CradleThe ForestThe FarmThe BedroomThe HearthNew FranceThe ParlourThe PrairieThe Vacation SpotThe Far NorthThe Pacific CoastThe Tea TableThe Log CabinThe Frozen Pond


In 1930’s Canada, curriculum projects and teacher training designated embroidery a girl’s activity, and girls were urged in popular magazines to combine “beauty with utility”, employing techniques that would beautify the home and make it more comfortable. This tea cozy would have been intended for a special occasion when the woman of the house displayed her finest china and silver on the tea table.





Where was this textile created?

World map preview image

The Tea Table

Tea cosy
North America: Canada, Central Canada, Ontario
1933
Silk fabric embroidered with rayon thread, padding
30 cm x 37 cm x 10 cm
Gift of Joan Forsey
T93.0144 Textile Museum of Canada



Gladys and Clayton Forsey were given this tea cozy as a wedding present in September, 1933. It is made with two shades of silk satin, carefully hand sewn and embroidered with oranges and orange blossoms in satin stitch and generously padded, probably with kapok fibre harvested from a tropical rainforest tree called the Kapok or silk-cotton tree.

This tea cozy is a very fancy rendition of a very domestic and down-to-earth object. It does not look used, so sadly may never had the opportunity to show what an effective teapot insulator it could be.






Do an Activity!
Test your knowledge of textiles and discover something new. You have four adventures to choose from.


Make a Mola Paint by Plant Magic Carpet Animal Know How

LieuxLe jardin d’enfantsLe berceauLa forêtLa fermeLa chambre à coucherLe cœurLa Nouvelle-FranceLe salonLes PrairiesLoin du foyer maternelLe Grand NordLa côte PacifiqueLa table à théLa cabane en rondinsL’étang gelé

couvre-théière

Dans le Canada des années 1930, la broderie était considérée comme une activité à intégrer à la formation des institutrices et aux projets éducatifs des jeunes filles. Les magazines populaires pressaient celles-ci d’allier « le beau à l’utile » en utilisant des techniques qui permettaient de décorer la maison tout en la rendant plus confortable. Ce couvre-théière était destiné aux occasions spéciales, lors desquelles l’hôtesse sortait son argenterie et sa porcelaine la plus fine sur la table à thé.





D’où ce textile provient-il?

Prévisualisation de la carte du monde

La table à thé

couvre-théière
Amérique du Nord : Canada, Canada central, Ontario
1933, milieu du XXe siècle
Soie brodée avec du fil de rayonne, rembourrée
30 cm x 37 cm x 10 cm
Don de Joan Forsey
T93.0144 Textile Museum of Canada



Ce couvre-théière figurait parmi les cadeaux de noces offerts, en septembre 1933, à Gladys et à Clayton Forsey. Soigneusement cousu à la main et brodé d’oranges et de fleurs d’oranger en points plumetis, il arbore deux tons de soie satin. On l’a généreusement rembourré, probablement avec du kapok, fibre d’un arbre poussant dans la forêt tropicale, le kapokier.

Le couvre-théière est la version très distinguée d’un accessoire domestique des plus banals. L’apparence intacte de celui-ci laisse deviner qu’il n’a peut-être jamais pu montrer à quoi il servait vraiment, garder le thé au chaud.






À vous de jouer
Testez et enrichissez votre connaissance des textiles. Choisissez une aventure parmi les quatre proposées.


Créez une mola Teignez avec des plantes Découvrez un tapis magique Savoir-faire animal