BridgesThe BeadThe Overshot CoverletThe BeaverOld World to New WorldCloth’s JourneyThe PaisleyThe Tree of LifeThe CowrieThe PatoluThe Silk RoadChintzImprovised PatternsThe Colour BlueThe Oriental CarpetThe Big Fight

Vest

Seven different kinds of striped and checked cotton cloth are combined in this vest. The fabrics look machine- rather than hand-woven, and although the sewing is careful, it indicates the vest was constructed on a domestic sewing machine. The tension of the stitches is irregular and there is evidence of unpicking and re-sewing in the stitch lines.





Where was this textile created?

World map preview image

Old World to New World

Vest
Asia: East Asia, China or Canada
c. 1921
Woven cotton pieced and sewn, shell buttons
52 cm x 40 cm
Gift of Lonnie Seguin
T93.0117 Textile Museum of Canada



While the style of this simple man’s vest is Western, the fabric recalls the long Chinese tradition of patterning cloth with indigo blue and white. After paying the head tax due under the Chinese Immigration Act of the time, a woman by the name of Ho See (whose son owned the vest) sailed to Victoria, British Columbia and entered Canada in August, 1921.

The maker of this vest travelled halfway around the world and was required to pay the Canadian government $500 for permission to stay in Canada. In 2002, a group of Chinese immigrants and their descendants began a class action lawsuit against the Canadian government for reparation and a formal apology.






Do an Activity!
Test your knowledge of textiles and discover something new. You have four adventures to choose from.


Make a Mola Paint by Plant Magic Carpet Animal Know How

PontsLa perleLe couvre-lit à duite de dessusLe castorDes vieux pays au nouveau mondeAir de fêteLe dessin cachemireL’arbre de vieLe cauriLe patoluLa route de la soieChintzMotifs improvisésBleu nuitLe tapis orientalVêtement de combat

veste

Sept différentes sortes de cotons à rayures et à carreaux composent ce vêtement. Les étoffes semblent avoir été tissées à la machine plutôt qu’à la main, et, malgré la couture soignée, leur assemblage révèle la trace d’une machine à coudre ménagère. La tension entre les points est inégale et l’on remarque des endroits où les lignes de couture ont été défaites et reprises.





D’où ce textile provient-il?

Prévisualisation de la carte du monde

Des vieux pays au nouveau monde

veste
Asie : Asie de l'Est, Chine
vers 1921, début du XXe siècle
Coton tissé, superposé et cousu, boutons en coquillage
52 cm x 40 cm
Don de Lonnie Seguin
T93.0117 Textile Museum of Canada



Ce gilet d’homme tout simple est de style occidental, mais son étoffe évoque la longue tradition chinoise, mêlant le bleu indigo et le blanc. Il appartenait au fils d’une femme du nom de Ho See, qui était venue en bateau jusqu’à Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique, pour s’installer au Canada, en août 1921, une fois payée la taxe d’entrée imposée en vertu de la Loi concernant l’immigration chinoise, alors en vigueur.

La couturière de cette veste a parcouru la moitié du globe pour s’établir au Canada, où le gouvernement a exigé d’elle 500 $ pour qu’elle puisse y demeurer. En 2002, quelques survivants et leurs descendants ont entrepris un recours collectif contre le gouvernement du Canada pour obtenir réparation et des excuses officielles au nom d’une génération entière d’immigrants chinois.






À vous de jouer
Testez et enrichissez votre connaissance des textiles. Choisissez une aventure parmi les quatre proposées.


Créez une mola Teignez avec des plantes Découvrez un tapis magique Savoir-faire animal