OriginsAfghanistanNigeriaRussiaGhanaPanamaChinaChinaThe BalkansHungaryJapanJapanPakistanPhilippinesSyriaUkraine

Dress

Red is the preferred colour for embroidery on Syrian dresses. It is said to possess magic qualities and offers fertility, protection and wealth to those who wear it. If you understand the symbols and patterns used in Syrian dress embroidery, you can discover details about the woman’s place in her community, her age, marital status and her affiliation to a particular village, tribe or ethnic group.





Where was this textile created?

World map preview image

Syria

Dress
Asia: West Asia, Arabian Peninsula, Syria
Early to mid 20th century
Cotton cloth with silk embroidery
132 cm x 140 cm
Gift of Dr. Howard Gorman
T92.0092 Textile Museum of Canada



This simply cut traditional cotton dress is embroidered with geometric and tree-like branching shapes. The cross stitches, worked in silk floss, are so tiny (one square millimetre each) they are hard to see with the naked eye. Herringbone stitch outlines the yoke and other seams.

The Tree of Life is an ancient motif in many parts of the world and is represented here by multiple branching forms. This dress has several small tree symbols (possibly cypresses or date palms) and one large tree from hem to bodice on the left side crowned by a multi-coloured top. On the right, the tree form is apparent but the top is missing.






Do an Activity!
Test your knowledge of textiles and discover something new. You have four adventures to choose from.


Make a Mola Paint by Plant Magic Carpet Animal Know How

OriginesAfghanistanNigeriaRussieGhanaPanamaChineChineLes BalkansHongrieJaponJaponPakistanPhilippinesSyrieUkraine

robe

Le rouge est la couleur de prédilection pour les broderies ornant les robes syriennes. On lui attribue des propriétés magiques et la capacité de rendre fécondes, de protéger et d’enrichir celles qui le portent. Les symboles et les motifs utilisés dans les broderies syriennes en révèlent beaucoup sur le rang social d’une femme, son âge, sa situation familiale et son appartenance à un village, à une tribu ou à un groupe ethnique particulier. Autant de touches créatives ajoutent à la beauté de la robe.





D’où ce textile provient-il?

Prévisualisation de la carte du monde

Syrie

robe
Asie : Asie occidentale, péninsule d’Arabie, Syrie
1900 - 1990, XXe siècle
Coton avec broderie de soie
132 cm x 140 cm
Don de Dr. Howard Gorman
T92.0092 Textile Museum of Canada



Des figures géométriques et des dessins évoquant les branches d’un arbre ont été brodés sur cette robe traditionnelle d’une coupe simple, en coton. Les points de croix, exécutés avec du fil de soie, sont si petits (un millimètre carré chacun) qu’ils sont à peine perceptibles à l’œil nu. Des points de chausson mettent en évidence l’empiècement et d’autres coutures.

L’arbre de vie, représenté ici sous la forme d’une ramure abondante, est un ancien motif courant dans de nombreuses régions du monde. Cette robe comporte plusieurs petits arbres symboliques (peut-être des cyprès ou des dattiers) ainsi que, de l’ourlet au corsage, à gauche, un immense arbre couronné d’un feuillage multicolore. À droite, on devine à nouveau la forme d’un arbre, bien que la cime soit invisible.






À vous de jouer
Testez et enrichissez votre connaissance des textiles. Choisissez une aventure parmi les quatre proposées.


Créez une mola Teignez avec des plantes Découvrez un tapis magique Savoir-faire animal