PlacesThe NurseryThe CradleThe ForestThe FarmThe BedroomThe HearthNew FranceThe ParlourThe PrairieThe Vacation SpotThe Far NorthThe Pacific CoastThe Tea TableThe Log CabinThe Frozen Pond


Boutonné patterning is one of the ingenious ways newcomers to what was then New France beautified the acres of plain cloth they needed for their own use. This piece, however, was probably not made by a weaver for her family, but for commerce. To keep the weaving traditions alive and foster a cottage industry for rural women, several weaving studios started up in the 1920s. Using the traditional methods, the production of the studios was geared to produce attractive textiles for tourists and other visitors to rural Quebec in the period between the two World Wars.





Where was this textile created?

World map preview image

New France

Bedspread (couvre boutonné)
North America: Canada, Central Canada, Quebec
1920 - 1940
Cotton and wool yarns, woven and sewn
254 cm x 160 cm
Gift of Dr. Howard Gorman
T90.0231 Textile Museum of Canada



Weavers in Québec use weft-loop weave or boutonné to pattern their plain weave blankets. The loops are made by pulling up the weft threads as they are inserted into the warp threads held in tension by the loom. This method is free and creative because the weaver, not the loom, controls the creation of the pattern.

This striking coverlet has a bold and beautiful pattern of stars and crosses, placed in what seems like a random arrangement across the cloth. It is unlikely the maker was familiar with Central African weaving traditions, but this textile is as dynamic and rhythmic, in its own way, as strip woven cloth from Ghana.






Do an Activity!
Test your knowledge of textiles and discover something new. You have four adventures to choose from.


Make a Mola Paint by Plant Magic Carpet Animal Know How

LieuxLe jardin d’enfantsLe berceauLa forêtLa fermeLa chambre à coucherLe cœurLa Nouvelle-FranceLe salonLes PrairiesLoin du foyer maternelLe Grand NordLa côte PacifiqueLa table à théLa cabane en rondinsL’étang gelé

couvre-lit (couvre boutonné)

Les motifs du « boutonné » (ou « moutonné ») témoignent de l’ingéniosité avec laquelle les arrivants en Nouvelle-France (Québec) ont embelli les abondantes étoffes unies mises à leur disposition. La tisserande de ce couvre-lit ne l’a sans doute pas conçu pour sa famille, mais dans le but de le vendre. Pour perpétuer la tradition et favoriser l’essor de l’artisanat au profit des femmes en milieu rural, plusieurs ateliers de tissage ont vu le jour dans les années 1920. Avec d’anciennes méthodes, les femmes qui y œuvraient ont créé des textiles recherchés par les touristes et les autres visiteurs du Québec rural de l’entre-deux-guerres.





D’où ce textile provient-il?

Prévisualisation de la carte du monde

La Nouvelle-France

couvre-lit (couvre boutonné)
Amérique du Nord : Canada, Canada central, Québec
1920 - 1940, début du XXe siècle
Coton et laine, tissés et cousus
254 cm x 160 cm
Don du Dr. Howard Gorman
T90.0231 Textile Museum of Canada



Certaines tisserandes québécoises utilisent le « boutonné », technique basée sur les boucles de trame, pour créer des motifs sur les couvertures d’une armure unie. Les boucles sont réalisées en surélevant des fils de trame pendant leur insertion dans les fils de chaîne, alors que le métier exerce une tension. Cette technique libère la créativité des tisserandes, puisque ce sont elles qui mènent, et non leur métier, pendant la conception des motifs.

Ce magnifique couvre-lit arbore de jolis motifs d’étoiles et de croix qui semblent avoir été nonchalamment dispersés ici et là. Par son dynamisme et son rythme, il évoque étonnamment le tissage en bandes du Ghana, même si celle qui l’a tissé ne connaissait probablement rien aux textiles traditionnels de l’Afrique centrale.






À vous de jouer
Testez et enrichissez votre connaissance des textiles. Choisissez une aventure parmi les quatre proposées.


Créez une mola Teignez avec des plantes Découvrez un tapis magique Savoir-faire animal