OriginsAfghanistanNigeriaRussiaGhanaPanamaChinaChinaThe BalkansHungaryJapanJapanPakistanPhilippinesSyriaUkraine

Loom

Abaca is a bast fibre from the stems of wild banana plants. On the island of Mindanao, abaca is used to produce cloth on backstrap looms such as this one. The stiff, long abaca threads produce a springy, wiry cloth that is airy against the wearer’s skin. The technique of tying groups of unwoven warp or weft threads together to resist the dye and make patterns is usually known by the Indonesian term, ikat.





Where was this textile created?

World map preview image

Philippines

Loom
Asia: South East Asia, Philippines, Mindanao; T'boli people
Mid 20th century
Bamboo and wood loom, abaca warp and weft threads
cloth on loom: 156 cm x 68 cm
Gift of Dale Mearns
T90.0222a Textile Museum of Canada



This half-woven length of cloth is still on a backstrap loom. The loom is made of bamboo and wood, with a beater, reed and heddle still attached. A backstrap loom has the advantage of being portable, and can be stored easily in a roll. The owner unrolls the loom, attaches the finished end to a tree or pole, attaches the unfinished end to a belt around her body, and leans back to create the tension needed to weave.

While textile makers in Africa, South America and central Asia all employ the ikat technique to make cloth, only in south-central Mindanao in the Philippines is thread resist combined with abaca fibres, to make textiles such as this one.






Do an Activity!
Test your knowledge of textiles and discover something new. You have four adventures to choose from.


Make a Mola Paint by Plant Magic Carpet Animal Know How

OriginesAfghanistanNigeriaRussieGhanaPanamaChineChineLes BalkansHongrieJaponJaponPakistanPhilippinesSyrieUkraine

métier

L’abaca est une fibre libérienne extraite des tiges de bananiers sauvages. Sur l’île de Mindanao, on l’utilise pour produire du tissu à l’aide de métiers à bras comme celui-ci. Les longs fils raides de l’abaca produisent un tissu élastique et rêche apprécié pour sa légèreté sur la peau. La technique consistant à nouer des groupes de fils de chaîne ou de trame non tissés afin de les teindre par réserve pour ensuite concevoir des motifs est habituellement connue sous son appellation indonésienne, l’ikat.





D’où ce textile provient-il?

Prévisualisation de la carte du monde

Philippines

métier
Asie : Asie du Sud-Est, Philippines, Mindanao, T'boli
1930 - 1960, XXe siècle
Métier en bambou et en bois, fils de chaîne et de trame en abaca
Pièce d’étoffe sur le métier : 156 cm x 68 cm
Don de Dale Mearns
T90.0222a Textile Museum of Canada



Cette demi-longueur d’étoffe est encore sur le métier à bras avec lequel on a commencé à la tisser. Fabriqué en bambou et en bois, ce métier a toujours son battoir, son peigne et sa lice. Il a l’avantage d’être portatif et facile à ranger sous la forme d’un rouleau. Il suffira à sa propriétaire de le dérouler, d’en fixer l’extrémité finie à un arbre ou à un bâton et d’attacher l’autre à sa ceinture. En se penchant en arrière, elle obtiendra la tension nécessaire au tissage.

Si beaucoup d’artisans d’Afrique, d’Amérique du Sud et d’Asie centrale utilisent la technique ikat pour fabriquer leurs tissus, ce n’est que dans la partie centrale-sud de Mindanao, aux Philippines, qu’on teint les fils par réserve avec des fibres d’abaca pour créer des textiles comme celui-ci.






À vous de jouer
Testez et enrichissez votre connaissance des textiles. Choisissez une aventure parmi les quatre proposées.


Créez une mola Teignez avec des plantes Découvrez un tapis magique Savoir-faire animal