PlacesThe NurseryThe CradleThe ForestThe FarmThe BedroomThe HearthNew FranceThe ParlourThe PrairieThe Vacation SpotThe Far NorthThe Pacific CoastThe Tea TableThe Log CabinThe Frozen Pond


Many of the First Nations of the Canadian West Coast collect the bark of young red and yellow cedar to produce mats, capes, blankets and hats. This mat may have been made by the Nuu-chah-nulth First Nations (formerly Nootka) who were known as expert whale hunters. Traditional dress for the Nuu-chah-nulth is a cedar-bark or fur cape, pinned at the right side; women also wore a bark apron extending from the waist to the knees. A mat like this one is probably too stiff to be a cape, but it could have been used as a room divider, a doorway banner, or as a ceremonial ground cover.





Where was this textile created?

World map preview image

The Pacific Coast

Mat, by Johnnie Kit-Elswa
North America: Canada, Western Canada, British Columbia; Nuu-chah-nulth people
c. 1880
Cedar bark, woven and painted with natural dyes
168 cm x 69 cm
T88.0786 Textile Museum of Canada



A killer whale takes centre stage on this woven mat of red cedar bark strips. The image of the whale flanked by two wolf heads is painted on the mat with natural dyes. The whale and wolf heads are drawn in the graphic style of the Northwest Coast: the artist draws a subject’s outline and fills it with abstract shapes. These internal shapes may play roles in a myth that is being represented– notice the face on the whale’s tail, for example – or they may show the sides and the back of the creature.

This mat came to the Textile Museum of Canada after a lengthy detour in the British Isles. How it made its way there remains a mystery. After an English owner purchased it from a Portobello Road dealer in the 1970’s, she framed it and displayed it in her home for many years, until she allowed it to hang in an exhibition at Canada House. She then put it up for sale through an auction house and the Textile Museum of Canada was able to purchase it with Federal government help, and bring it back to Canada.






Do an Activity!
Test your knowledge of textiles and discover something new. You have four adventures to choose from.


Make a Mola Paint by Plant Magic Carpet Animal Know How

LieuxLe jardin d’enfantsLe berceauLa forêtLa fermeLa chambre à coucherLe cœurLa Nouvelle-FranceLe salonLes PrairiesLoin du foyer maternelLe Grand NordLa côte PacifiqueLa table à théLa cabane en rondinsL’étang gelé

tapisserie d’art

Bon nombre de Premières nations habitant la côte ouest canadienne ramassent les morceaux d’écorce de jeunes cèdres rouges et jaunes pour fabriquer des tapis, des capes, des couvertures et des chapeaux. Tout indique que ce tapis est l’œuvre des Nuu-chach-nulth (auparavant Nootka), réputés comme d’excellents chasseurs de baleines. Le costume traditionnel de ceux-ci comprend une cape de fourrure ou d’écorce de cèdre épinglée à la droite. Les femmes portaient aussi un tablier d’écorce, qui allait de la taille aux genoux. Trop rigide pour servir de cape, un tapis comme celui-ci a pu servir à diviser une pièce, à décorer une entrée ou à revêtir le sol lors d’une cérémonie.





D’où ce textile provient-il?

Prévisualisation de la carte du monde

La côte Pacifique

tapis en fibres végétales, de Kit-Elswa, Johnnie
Amérique du Nord : Le Canada, Ouest du Canada, Colombie-Britannique, Nuu-chah-nulth
vers 1880, fin du XIXe siècle
Écorce de cèdre, tissée et peinte avec des teintures naturelles
168 cm x 69 cm
T88.0786 Textile Museum of Canada



Un orque occupe le centre de ce tapis tissé avec des bandes d’écorce de cèdre rouge. À l’instar des deux têtes de loup qui le flanquent, il est peint avec des teintures naturelles. On perçoit dans ce tapis l’influence du style graphique de la côte nord-ouest du Canada par ses formes abstraites emplissant un objet figuratif. Ces formes internes peuvent représenter un personnage mythique, comme le visage sur la queue de l’orque, ou tout simplement orner les flancs et le dos de la créature.

Pendant de nombreuses années, ce tapis ornait le mur de la maison d’une Anglaise, qui l’avait acheté d’un marchand de la rue Portobello, à Londres, dans les années 1970. Le chemin par lequel il a abouti dans les îles Britanniques demeure un mystère. Sa propriétaire a accepté de le présenter lors d’une exposition à la Canada House de Londres quelques années plus tard, pour ensuite le vendre aux enchères. Le Textile Museum of Canada a pu l’acquérir avec le soutien du gouvernement fédéral et ainsi le ramener dans son pays d’origine.






À vous de jouer
Testez et enrichissez votre connaissance des textiles. Choisissez une aventure parmi les quatre proposées.


Créez une mola Teignez avec des plantes Découvrez un tapis magique Savoir-faire animal