StoriesMagicMourningReflections of GloryHorses and DragonsAnimal AdornmentWeddingKids' CreativitySacred DancersWoven AirThe Mythical MonkeyCloth of WarThe Tanabata Bridge of WingsPrayers to the Sea GoddessSnake TwistTapa Map

Camel headdress
opens in new window

This headdress added to the regalia of a prized camel and was made for a special ceremony such as a wedding. Coarse red felt was reinforced and lined with strips and triangles of woven wool, and decorated with tassels made of horsehair and feathers.





Where was this textile created?

World map preview image

Animal Adornment

Camel headdress
Asia: Central Asia, Afghanistan; Uzbek or Kirghiz people
Mid 20th century
Felted wool cloth, wool yarn, horsehair tassels and feathers
59 cm x 75 cm
Textile Museum of Canada
T88.0391 Textile Museum of Canada



The Afghan people who made this headdress live a nomadic life, herding animals from pasture to pasture. The nomadic community treats livestock as their true wealth, and some of the symbols embroidered on the headdress are rams’ horns, which likely represent large herds of sheep.

Humans are the only species who wear clothes. However, we often dress domesticated animals as if they were one of us. We lovingly adorn the animals we treasure by decorating them extensively for special occasions – whether in the spirit of an offering or as a mark of respect.






Do an Activity!
Test your knowledge of textiles and discover something new. You have four adventures to choose from.


Make a Mola Paint by Plant Magic Carpet Animal Know How

RécitsLa magieLe deuilDes airs de gloireDragons et chevauxParure d’animalLe mariageŒuvres d’enfantsDanseurs sacrésTissu vaporeuxLe singe mythiqueÉtoffe de guerreLe pont d’ailes de TanabataPrières à la déesse de la merLa symbolique du serpentCarte tapa

têtière de chameau
opens in new window

Conçue pour une cérémonie spéciale, peut-être un mariage, cette têtière faisait partie des insignes d’un chameau prisé. Le feutre rouge de texture grossière a été renforcé et doublé de bandes et de triangles de laine tissée. Des plumes et des glands en crin de cheval décorent le tout.





D’où ce textile provient-il?

Prévisualisation de la carte du monde

Parure d’animal

têtière de chameau
Asie : Asie centrale, Afghanistan, Ouzbek
1930 - 1960, milieu du XXe siècle
Tissu de laine feutrée, fil de laine, glands en crin de cheval et plumes
59 cm x 75 cm
T88.0391 Textile Museum of Canada



Le peuple afghan auquel appartient l’artisan de cette têtière est nomade, errant d’un pâturage à l’autre pour y nourrir ses troupeaux. Les nomades traitent leur bétail comme leur plus grande richesse, d’où les cornes de bélier brodées sur cette têtière, qui symbolisent sans doute d’immenses troupeaux de moutons.

Si nous sommes la seule espèce à porter des vêtements, nous habillons souvent nos animaux domestiques comme s’ils étaient des nôtres. Lors d’occasions spéciales, certains peuples parent de long en large les animaux qu’ils chérissent – dans l’esprit d’une offrande ou pour exprimer le respect.






À vous de jouer
Testez et enrichissez votre connaissance des textiles. Choisissez une aventure parmi les quatre proposées.


Créez une mola Teignez avec des plantes Découvrez un tapis magique Savoir-faire animal