BridgesThe BeadThe Overshot CoverletThe BeaverOld World to New WorldCloth’s JourneyThe PaisleyThe Tree of LifeThe CowrieThe PatoluThe Silk RoadChintzImprovised PatternsThe Colour BlueThe Oriental CarpetThe Big Fight

Tent bag (chuval)

In general, an “oriental” carpet or rug follows a particular design pattern that includes a central field surrounded by one or more borders. These borders create a protected space within the rug and are often filled with geometric motifs as with this chuval, or they might contain flowers and garden imagery as in the Persian tradition. Today, oriental-style carpets are made all over the world. Different materials are used to create them, and some are made by machine while others are made by hand. Regardless of their place of origin, these carpets all represent the ancient carpet-making traditions of the Middle East, the Caucasus and Central Asia.





Where was this textile created?

World map preview image

The Oriental Carpet

Tent bag (chuval)
Asia: Central Asia, Turkmenistan, Western Turkmenistan; Yomud Turkmen people
1860 - 1880
Wool yarns woven in knotted pile technique
57 cm x 121 cm
Gift of Fred Braida
T87.0619 Textile Museum of Canada



For nomadic peoples like the Yomud, carpets were essential elements of their dwellings and a sign of prosperity. Even a bag such as this chuval was considered a part of their carpet-making tradition, and they used it for transporting possessions when they migrated. The repeating medallions known as gols (in the centre field) are thought by some rug specialists to represent places with rich grass and water pools, which the Yomud would visit to feed their flocks of sheep and camels.

Whether the inner field of an oriental carpet contains a pattern of gols, or a central medallion surrounded by smaller medallions, the powerful themes of harmony and protection endure even though the exact symbolism of the rug may no longer be clear.






Do an Activity!
Test your knowledge of textiles and discover something new. You have four adventures to choose from.


Make a Mola Paint by Plant Magic Carpet Animal Know How

PontsLa perleLe couvre-lit à duite de dessusLe castorDes vieux pays au nouveau mondeAir de fêteLe dessin cachemireL’arbre de vieLe cauriLe patoluLa route de la soieChintzMotifs improvisésBleu nuitLe tapis orientalVêtement de combat

sac de tente (chuval)

En général, un tapis « oriental » a ses motifs particuliers, qui incluent un champ central entouré d’une ou de plusieurs bordures. Souvent remplies de formes géométriques, comme dans ce chuval, les bordures créent une zone protégée à l’intérieur du tapis. Il arrive aussi, par exemple dans la tradition persane, qu’elles contiennent une imagerie associée aux fleurs et aux jardins. De nos jours, les tapis de style oriental sont fabriqués partout dans le monde. Différents matériaux entrent dans la composition de ces tapis faits à la main ou à la machine. Peu importe leur lieu d’origine, tous ces tapis perpétuent les anciennes traditions qui ont orienté la fabrication de tapis au Moyen-Orient, au Caucase et en Asie centrale.





D’où ce textile provient-il?

Prévisualisation de la carte du monde

Le tapis oriental

sac de tente (chuval)
Asie : Asie centrale, Turkménistan, Yomud turkmène
1860 - 1880, du milieu à la fin du XIXe siècle
Fils de laine tissés selon la technique à points noués
57 cm x 121 cm
Don de Fred Braida
T87.0619 Textile Museum of Canada



Pour les peuples nomades comme les Yomuds, les tapis étaient non seulement des éléments d’ameublement essentiels, mais aussi des indicateurs de richesse. Même un sac comme ce chuval, hérité de la tradition de fabrication de tapis, suscitait le respect, d’autant plus qu’il servait à transporter les possessions pendant les migrations. Selon certains experts, les médaillons répétitifs qu’il arbore au centre, dits gols, représentent des lieux arrosés d’eau où la végétation est abondante, ceux que les Yomuds recherchaient pour nourrir leurs troupeaux de moutons et de chameaux.

Que le champ intérieur d’un tapis oriental présente un motif à base de gols ou un médaillon central cerné par de plus petits médaillons, les thèmes évocateurs de l’harmonie et de la protection dominent, même si le symbolisme du tapis peut nous échapper de nos jours.






À vous de jouer
Testez et enrichissez votre connaissance des textiles. Choisissez une aventure parmi les quatre proposées.


Créez une mola Teignez avec des plantes Découvrez un tapis magique Savoir-faire animal