BridgesThe BeadThe Overshot CoverletThe BeaverOld World to New WorldCloth’s JourneyThe PaisleyThe Tree of LifeThe CowrieThe PatoluThe Silk RoadChintzImprovised PatternsThe Colour BlueThe Oriental CarpetThe Big Fight

Dress (sari)

Patola are highly valued in Indonesia, particularly on the island of Sumatra, where Indian traders have exchanged them for spices since ancient times. In eastern Indonesia, a patolu was traditionally kept in each clan house as a protective talisman. The balanced lattice patterns inspired similar designs on Indonesian printed cottons, batiks, and warp ikat textiles. In Tenganan, on the island of Bali, fragments of Indian patola are considered magical and used in healing ceremonies along with locally woven geringsing (also a double ikat textile).





Where was this textile created?

World map preview image

The Patolu

Dress (sari)
Asia: South Asia, India, Eastern India, Orissa
Mid 20th century
Silk metallic and cotton threads, warp and weft tied and dyed
490 cm x 118 cm
Gift of Dr. Howard Gorman
T86.0304 Textile Museum of Canada



This delicate silk sari is a preferred garment for weddings in Gujarat, India. It features a border, an end filled with elephants, birds and dancing figures, and a centre field of stylized red flowers. It was created by tying and dyeing warp and weft threads in patterns, and then weaving them together.

A great deal of technical skill is required to tie and dye fine silk warp or weft threads to create a textile; to dye them both and then combine them is textile mastery of the highest degree.






Do an Activity!
Test your knowledge of textiles and discover something new. You have four adventures to choose from.


Make a Mola Paint by Plant Magic Carpet Animal Know How

PontsLa perleLe couvre-lit à duite de dessusLe castorDes vieux pays au nouveau mondeAir de fêteLe dessin cachemireL’arbre de vieLe cauriLe patoluLa route de la soieChintzMotifs improvisésBleu nuitLe tapis orientalVêtement de combat

robe (sari)

Le sari patolu est considéré comme un vêtement très précieux en Indonésie, plus particulièrement sur l’île de Sumatra, où les commerçants indiens l’échangeaient contre des épices à une autre époque. En Indonésie orientale, la tradition voulait que chaque maison de clan en possède un pour profiter de ses vertus protectrices. Ses motifs en treillis, équilibrés, ont inspiré des dessins similaires sur des cotons imprimés indonésiens, des batiks et des tissus ikat de chaîne. À Tenganan, sur l’île de Bali, on prête un pouvoir magique aux fragments de patolu indien, utilisés lors de cérémonies de guérison avec une autre pièce d’étoffe tissée localement, le geringsing (également à double ikat).





D’où ce textile provient-il?

Prévisualisation de la carte du monde

Le patolu

robe (sari)
Asie : Asie du Sud, Inde, Inde orientale, Orissa
1930 - 1960, milieu du XXe siècle
Soie, fils de métal et de coton, chaîne et trame nouées et teintes
490 cm x 118 cm
Don du Dr. Howard Gorman
T86.0304 Textile Museum of Canada



Ce délicat sari de soie reste un classique des tenues de mariage au Gujarat, en Inde. Sa bordure où se côtoient des éléphants, des oiseaux et des danseurs ainsi que son champ central garni de fleurs rouges stylisées suscitent l’admiration. Ce sari doit ses motifs à une technique consistant à nouer et à teindre les fils de chaîne et de trame avant de les tisser.

Il faut une grande habileté technique pour attacher et teindre de fins fils de soie; la teinture simultanée et l’agencement de fils de chaîne et de trame témoignent d’une dextérité exceptionnelle.






À vous de jouer
Testez et enrichissez votre connaissance des textiles. Choisissez une aventure parmi les quatre proposées.


Créez une mola Teignez avec des plantes Découvrez un tapis magique Savoir-faire animal