OriginsAfghanistanNigeriaRussiaGhanaPanamaChinaChinaThe BalkansHungaryJapanJapanPakistanPhilippinesSyriaUkraine

Kimono (kurotomesode)

The kimono is the national costume of Japan for both men and women. Its style has evolved over many centuries and today it is worn mostly for special occasions. Fabrics for kimonos cover a wide spectrum from plain to fancy, depending on the kimono’s societal function. A fancy kimono such as this one, with its exuberant painting of flying cranes, is taken apart before being washed, which is why the maker created the design on each panel separately before assembling the finished garment.





Where was this textile created?

World map preview image

Japan

Kimono (kurotomesode)
Asia: East Asia, Japan
Early to mid 20th century
Silk, woven, dyed with stencil and paste resist patterns outlined in gold
132 cm x 155 cm
Gift of Fred Braida
T85.0850 Textile Museum of Canada



The most formal kimono worn by married Japanese women is the black tomesode with five family crests. This one is shown without the accessories that usually complete it, including an obi (wide belt), narrow braided ties, and at least one “under-kimono.” The white basting threads along the seams are removed before wearing. A kimono is a one-size-fits-all garment. To adjust it for a different body size, the wearer folds a portion of the extra length under the obi. Folding adds to the kimono’s distinctive straight silhouette.

With the exception of the painted gold outlines, the seven brightly coloured cranes flying in a landscape of waves and stylized pine branches are repeated exactly on the inside of the kimono. This inner design is crafted with the same meticulous precision as the exterior, even though almost none of the interior decoration shows when the kimono is worn.






Do an Activity!
Test your knowledge of textiles and discover something new. You have four adventures to choose from.


Make a Mola Paint by Plant Magic Carpet Animal Know How

OriginesAfghanistanNigeriaRussieGhanaPanamaChineChineLes BalkansHongrieJaponJaponPakistanPhilippinesSyrieUkraine

kimono (kuro-tomesode)

Le kimono est le costume national du Japon, pour les hommes comme pour les femmes, mais il est désormais surtout porté lors d’occasions spéciales. Son style a évolué au fil des siècles. Les tissus dans lesquels il est fabriqué vont des plus simples aux plus extravagants, selon la fonction sociale qu’on souhaite conférer au vêtement. Même un kimono sophistiqué comme celui ci, avec son motif exubérant de grues en plein vol, est défait avant d’être lavé. C’est la raison pour laquelle l’artisan a créé le motif de chaque pan séparément avant d’agencer les pièces du vêtement fini.





D’où ce textile provient-il?

Prévisualisation de la carte du monde

Japon

kimono (kuro-tomesode)
Asie : Asie de l'Est, Japon
1900 - 1950, début à Milieu du XXe siècle
Soie tissée et teinte par réserve en pâte, au pochoir, motifs au contour or
132 cm x 155 cm
Don de Fred Braida
T85.0850 Textile Museum of Canada



Le tomesode, qu’on reconnaît à ses cinq emblèmes familiaux sur fond noir, est le kimono officiel par excellence de la femme japonaise mariée. Celui-ci est montré sans ses accessoires coutumiers : l’obi (large ceinture), les minces cordons tressés et au moins un « sous-kimono ». Les fils blancs faufilés le long des coutures sont retirés au moment de le porter. Le kimono a une taille unique. Pour l’ajuster, on doit replier la partie superflue sous l’obi. Les plis ainsi créés accentuent la silhouette droite, typique du kimono.

À l’exception des contours peints de couleur or, les sept grues aux tons vifs qui planent au-dessus d’un paysage de vagues et de branches de pin stylisées sont répétées au détail près à l’intérieur du kimono. Ce motif interne est conçu avec autant de précision que celui apparaissant sur le dessus, même si aucun élément intérieur n’est visible lorsque le kimono est porté.






À vous de jouer
Testez et enrichissez votre connaissance des textiles. Choisissez une aventure parmi les quatre proposées.


Créez une mola Teignez avec des plantes Découvrez un tapis magique Savoir-faire animal