StoriesMagicMourningReflections of GloryHorses and DragonsAnimal AdornmentWeddingKids' CreativitySacred DancersWoven AirThe Mythical MonkeyCloth of WarThe Tanabata Bridge of WingsPrayers to the Sea GoddessSnake TwistTapa Map

Panel

Most ancient Peruvian textiles we see today were buried and preserved long ago in the Peruvian coastal desert. Over a period of three millennia, Peruvian civilizations produced textiles of a technical complexity that has never been surpassed.





Where was this textile created?

World map preview image

Snake Twist

Panel
South America: Western South America, Peru, Central Coast; Chancay people
Pre-Spanish, Late Intermediate Period - Late Horizon, 1200 - 1550
Cotton, double woven
71 cm x 18 cm
Gift of Thomas Kalman
T84.0290 Textile Museum of Canada



This panel is from a long burial cloth. In ancient Peru, double cloth was alternated with plain weave cloths to produce “long wrapping,” or “winding cloths” for the dead. This one was most likely part of a burial in coastal Peru and was preserved by the region’s dry conditions. The borders are patterned with birds marching in rows. The same birds appear in the central field, alternating with a motif of two intertwined snakes.

Images of birds are found on many ancient Peruvian textiles. Birds such as cormorants, gulls and pelicans inhabited the coast, and were important to the daily life and rituals of the people. What is the meaning of the snake patterns in the panel? Their interlocking suggests a relation to spun threads, twisting around each other to form yarns. Their pairing also illustrates a belief held by ancient Andeans that everything in the universe is paired and every individual depends upon a community of others.






Do an Activity!
Test your knowledge of textiles and discover something new. You have four adventures to choose from.


Make a Mola Paint by Plant Magic Carpet Animal Know How

RécitsLa magieLe deuilDes airs de gloireDragons et chevauxParure d’animalLe mariageŒuvres d’enfantsDanseurs sacrésTissu vaporeuxLe singe mythiqueÉtoffe de guerreLe pont d’ailes de TanabataPrières à la déesse de la merLa symbolique du serpentCarte tapa

panneau

La plupart des anciens textiles péruviens que nous pouvons encore admirer de nos jours ont été enterrés, et ainsi préservés, il y a longtemps dans le désert de la côte péruvienne. Pendant trois millénaires, les civilisations du Pérou ont produit des textiles d’une complexité technique encore inégalée.





D’où ce textile provient-il?

Prévisualisation de la carte du monde

La symbolique du serpent

panneau
Amérique du Sud : côte ouest de l’Amérique du Sud, Pérou, Chancay
1200 - 1550, style pré-espagnol
Coton, armure double
71 cm x 18 cm
Don de Thomas Kalman
T84.0290 Textile Museum of Canada



Ce panneau provient d’une longue étoffe funéraire. Dans le Pérou ancien, on alternait une double-étoffe avec un tissage uni pour produire de longues enveloppes ou des pièces de tissu dans lesquelles on enroulait les morts. Celle-ci, bien conservée grâce à un climat sec, faisait probablement partie d’un lieu de sépulture sur la côte péruvienne. Sa bordure arbore une série d’oiseaux, un motif répété dans le champ central, entre des couples de serpents entrelacés.

Les images d’oiseaux ornent bon nombre d’anciens textiles péruviens. Fréquents sur la côte, les cormorans, les goélands et les pélicans, pour ne nommer que ces oiseaux, occupaient une place importante dans la vie et les rituels quotidiens. Quel sens faut-il donner aux serpents représentés sur ce panneau? Leur entrecroisement rappelle l’entortillement des brins filés pour former des fils. Leur jumelage illustre une croyance des anciens Andins, selon laquelle tout élément de l’univers est combiné avec un autre – tout individu est ainsi lié à la communauté.






À vous de jouer
Testez et enrichissez votre connaissance des textiles. Choisissez une aventure parmi les quatre proposées.


Créez une mola Teignez avec des plantes Découvrez un tapis magique Savoir-faire animal