OriginsAfghanistanNigeriaRussiaGhanaPanamaChinaChinaThe BalkansHungaryJapanJapanPakistanPhilippinesSyriaUkraine


Rug

During the Russian-Afghan war (1979-1989), Afghan refugees fled to camps along the northeast border with Pakistan. Most war rugs were woven in these camps. This rug was supposedly made by the Chicactu people, who fled westward to Iran. Creating such artifacts under such circumstances is a remarkable feat, and a testament to the centuries-long practice of rug weaving.





Where was this textile created?

World map preview image

Afghanistan

Rug
Asia: Central Asia, Afghanistan
1980 - 1990
Wool woven in knotted pile
180 cm x 118 cm
Gift of Max Allen
T02.13.15 Textile Museum of Canada



In this finely knotted pile rug, a war landscape replaces the floral designs and geometric symbols usually found on oriental carpets. The three central panels are crowded with stylized helicopters, planes and armoured cars – a scene of horror in the place where a garden would typically appear. As your eyes move from the centre to the borders, you see the patterns change gradually from war symbols to geometric shapes.

War rugs provide insights into the experiences of the Afghan people during the Russian-Afghan conflict, and illustrate how a culture’s imagery and symbolism develop. The helicopters are reminiscent of a traditional rug symbol, the boteh, which is an ancestor of the paisley pattern.






Do an Activity!
Test your knowledge of textiles and discover something new. You have four adventures to choose from.


Make a Mola Paint by Plant Magic Carpet Animal Know How

OriginesAfghanistanNigeriaRussieGhanaPanamaChineChineLes BalkansHongrieJaponJaponPakistanPhilippinesSyrieUkraine

tapis

Durant la guerre russo-afghane (1979-1989), des réfugiés afghans se sont enfuis vers des camps en bordure de la frontière nord-est avec le Pakistan. La plupart des tapis de guerre ont été tissés dans ces camps. On attribue celui-ci aux Chicactus, peuple qui a fui vers l’ouest, dans des camps situés le long de la frontière iranienne. Véritable exploit, la réalisation de tels artéfacts dans des camps de réfugiés est un témoignage de siècles de tissage.





D’où ce textile provient-il?

Prévisualisation de la carte du monde

Afghanistan

tapis
Asie : Asie centrale, Afghanistan
1980 - 1998, fin du XXe siècle
Laine tissée à points noués
180 cm x 118 cm
Don de Max Allen
T02.13.15 Textile Museum of Canada



Sur cette pièce à points finement noués, un paysage de guerre remplace les motifs floraux et les symboles géométriques qui ornent habituellement les tapis orientaux. Les trois panneaux centraux sont chargés de véhicules blindés, d’hélicoptères et d’avions stylisés, composant une scène d’horreur à l’endroit où, d’ordinaire, est représenté un jardin. À mesure que l’œil se porte du centre vers les côtés, des formes géométriques succèdent peu à peu aux motifs guerriers.

Les tapis de guerre font connaître ce qu’ont vécu les Afghans pendant le conflit avec les Russes et illustrent l’évolution de l’imagerie populaire et du symbolisme culturel. Les hélicoptères évoquent un motif traditionnel du tapis, le boteh, qui est l’ancêtre du dessin cachemire (paisley).






À vous de jouer
Testez et enrichissez votre connaissance des textiles. Choisissez une aventure parmi les quatre proposées.


Créez une mola Teignez avec des plantes Découvrez un tapis magique Savoir-faire animal