OriginsAfghanistanNigeriaRussiaGhanaPanamaChinaChinaThe BalkansHungaryJapanJapanPakistanPhilippinesSyriaUkraine

Shawl (phulkari)

The cotton ground cloth for the shawl is plain-woven and dyed dark red. Red is considered a good omen in south Asia, and the golden wheat-coloured allover embroidery symbolizes fertility. The embroiderer creates the patterns in satin stitch by laying long stitches on the front of the cloth and short ones on the back. She sees only the back of the cloth while she sews, yet her proficiency allows her to cover the front with precise patterns using touch, and by counting threads in the grid of the woven fabric.





Where was this textile created?

World map preview image

Pakistan

Shawl (phulkari)
Asia: South Asia, Pakistan, Punjab
c. 1940
Woven cotton cloth embroidered with silk
247 cm x 126 cm
From the Fitzgerald Collection
T00.45.48 Textile Museum of Canada



On her wedding day, a Punjabi bride wears a bagh phulkari (garden flower work) made by her family or her groom’s family. This bagh phulkari consists of three narrow panels of dark red cotton that were joined after being embroidered with diamond patterns of bright yellow silk thread. The diamonds of contrasting colours at the edges are known as nazar, or talismans, whose purpose is to avert the evil eye. The small omissions in the patterns are sewn deliberately to avoid perfection, as it may attract evil.

For Hindu, Muslim and Sikh communities in the Punjab, every aspect of this shawl is steeped in tradition and meaning. It is a powerful expression of the love and care her community gives to a bride at the moment of her transition into wedded life.






Do an Activity!
Test your knowledge of textiles and discover something new. You have four adventures to choose from.


Make a Mola Paint by Plant Magic Carpet Animal Know How

OriginesAfghanistanNigeriaRussieGhanaPanamaChineChineLes BalkansHongrieJaponJaponPakistanPhilippinesSyrieUkraine

étoffe pour la tête (phulkari)

D’une armure unie, le coton de base utilisé pour ce châle est teint rouge foncé. Le rouge est perçu comme étant de bon augure en Asie du Sud, alors que les tons de blé créés par la broderie or symbolisent la fécondité. La brodeuse ajoute des motifs à l’aide de points plumetis, en couchant de longs points sur la surface de l’étoffe et de courts points à l’endos. Elle n’aperçoit que l’arrière de l’étoffe pendant qu’elle coud, mais sa dextérité lui permet de couvrir le devant de motifs parfaits simplement au toucher, en comptant les fils dans la grille du tissu.





D’où ce textile provient-il?

Prévisualisation de la carte du monde

Pakistan

étoffe pour la tête (phulkari)
Asie : Asie du Sud, Inde, Nord de l’Inde, Penjab
1940, milieu du XXe siècle
Coton tissé et brodé de soie
247 cm x 126 cm
De la Collection de Fitzgerald
T00.45.48 Textile Museum of Canada



Le jour de son mariage, l’épouse penjabi porte un bagh phulkari (« jardin en fleurs ») conçu à son intention par sa famille ou celle de son époux. Celui-ci consiste en trois panneaux étroits de coton rouge foncé, joints après qu’on y ait brodé des losanges avec du fil de soie jaune vif. Les losanges affichant des couleurs contrastantes aux extrémités sont appelés nazars. Il s’agit de talismans insérés là pour détourner le mauvais œil. L’artisan oublie délibérément de coudre certains éléments dans ses motifs pour éviter la perfection, qui, croit-on, porterait malheur.

Pour les communautés hindoue, musulmane et sikhe du Penjab, le moindre élément de ce châle a une signification et s’inscrit dans une tradition. Le vêtement exprime avec force l’amour que portent ces communautés à la mariée au moment de son passage à la vie d’épouse.






À vous de jouer
Testez et enrichissez votre connaissance des textiles. Choisissez une aventure parmi les quatre proposées.


Créez une mola Teignez avec des plantes Découvrez un tapis magique Savoir-faire animal